I made a lattice top!

DSC_0357

There are a few things in life that truly intimidate me: one of those is going out in public without an ounce of makeup on (never happens) and the other is creating a lattice top on a pie crust. Though I love to bake, I automatically eliminate any recipe that calls for what I thought was such detailed pastry work.

But My Girl was asleep and My Hubs was not yet home from work, so there wasn’t anyone around to witness any disasters in lattice work. So I took the plunge and tried it today. And I succeeded! And it was actually easy. Apparently I’ve wasted a decade of potential recipes for fear of something that was quite simple.

I actually tried the lattice top on a casserole I pinned on Pinterest. 1) The recipe was delish. A must try if you’re in the market for some new supper time fun. I did, however, just use four tortillas instead of eight. It tasted great and brought down the calorie count. 2) It was pretty!

The Chicken Tortilla Bake recipe is over at Homemakers Daily, and I followed their lattice-top tutorial too. Check it out for yourself!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “I made a lattice top!

  1. Patty@homemakersdaily June 20, 2013 at 8:52 am Reply

    Your lattice top looks amazing! I can’t believe you’ve never done it before. And so glad you enjoyed the casserole. My family thought it was great, too.

    • Whitney Williams June 20, 2013 at 11:09 am Reply

      Thank you for the inspiration to finally give it a try! Sometimes the battle is all mental when it comes to trying new things 😊 And thanks for stopping by my little blog! ~WW

Leave a Reply

