My Comical DIY Rug Redo

My Comical DIY Rug Redo
I had this brilliant idea: instead of buying a new rug for under the kitchen table (where My Girl will be spilling her food for the foreseeable future), I would revamp the one I have! Such a simple idea. Not such a simple project.

As you can see, the rug was looking ROUGH. (As are my floors – we’ll blame that on the dog.) But I’ve had it for over five years in a high traffic area, and I think it was like $60 when I bought it. So I didn’t have much to lose if the project was a total disaster.
My Comical DIY Rug Redo
DSC_0602

My first brilliant idea was to use Fabric Spray Paint for Upholstery on the edges.  (Apparently I don’t know how to use the focus button on my camera.)
My Comical DIY Rug Redo
So I taped up the rug, got my cardboard out, and went to town.

My Comical DIY Rug Redo

As you can see, that was a bust.  The paint didn’t take at all.  My dog was really disappointed in me.
My Comical DIY Rug Redo
So then I decided to paint the edges with fabric paint, which looks a lot like the puff paint my mom would use on my sweatsuits in elementary school.  If it was good enough for me then, surely it would work for me now.My Comical DIY Rug Redo
And it worked! I was so excited…
My Comical DIY Rug Redo
…until I peeled off the tape and saw the vague rectangle that my previous spray painting accidentally created. I could not stop laughing at this point. What a mess!
My Comical DIY Rug Redo
So then I thought I could paint the rectangle a solid color to make it not look like a total accident. Round 3: Paint the inner rectangle with fabric paint. If you have ever wondered if puff paint works on sisal, it doesn’t. Another total bust.
My Comical DIY Rug Redo
On to Round 4: Purchase real deal Luicile spray paint and spray paint the inner rectangle.
My Comical DIY Rug Redo
And this time it worked! The edges aren’t perfect, but I think the rug is worth keeping around. At least until My Girl can properly use utensils.
My Comical DIY Rug Redo

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

