Home Spun Fun: Makeup

Home Spun Fun: Makeup
Makeup fun began with My Girl out of necessity. Having her play with my makeup was the only way I could get it applied before noon. But now it’s somewhat of a routine for us, and when I’m not ready to primp on the weekends, sometimes My Girl will drag me to where I keep my makeup to remind it is time to get to business.

Now this may be controversial for some, that I am sending a message that I need to wear makeup to feel pretty or that I need to cover up my flaws or something along those lines. I am conscious of that and I want to pass along to My Girl that I wear makeup because I like it, not because I feel like I have to for someone else. So whenever she “applies blush” or draws on her face with my eyeliner, I always say “How fun!” or “Does that feel nice?” instead of “That is so pretty!”

We both enjoy it (notice her fab application of my beloved Tarte concealer), and it allows me to look feel put together when out and about. A pretty big win for me!
Home Spun Fun: Makeup

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Home Spun Fun: Makeup

  1. Emily Strobo December 5, 2013 at 11:49 am Reply

    You’re such a good momma! I’ve been trying the “You must have been hungry” when Frank finishes all of his food and shows me an empty plate instead of “Great job!” I get nervous that praise for a clean plate can lead to bad habits of overeating instead of just eating until he’s full. Who knows. 🙂

    • Whitney Williams December 5, 2013 at 6:31 pm Reply

      Ooh – good one! Though I feel like we can over analyze just about everything we say!

Leave a Reply

