Major Milk Makin’ Cookies

Major Milk Makin' Cookies Recipe
Breastfeeding was not easy with My Girl – in fact, it didn’t work at all. But I was able to exclusively pump, which allowed me to keep track of how much milk I was producing (probably a blessing and a curse). One thing that definitely helped with my production was eating a lot of calories and eating a lot of milk makin’ foods like oatmeal. My lactation consultant swore that these cookies helped produce that liquid gold as well, so I took that as a prescription to eat cookies. Done and done.

I made some to freeze then bake once baby boy decides to make an appearance, so please excuse the lack of a really pretty baked cookie to show. But I thought I’d share the recipe for any other mommas who may be in the market for some milk makin’ ideas! The original recipe is from Kathleen Major – I don’t know her, but credit should be given where credit is due.

Major Milk Makin’ Cookies
1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
1 3/4 cups old fashioned oats
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
3/4 cup almond or peanut butter
1/2 cup butter, softened
1 cup flaxseed (I used ground though it’s not specified in the original recipe)
3 Tbs brewer’s yeast (I used nutritional yeast)
1/3 cup water
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
2 tsp vanilla
2 large eggs
2 cups (12 ounces) chocolate chips
1 cup chopped nuts of your choice

Combine flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt in a bowl.
In a large bowl, beat almond butter, butter, sugar, brown sugar, vanilla, brewer’s yeast, flax and water until creamy.
Mix in eggs.
Gradually beat in flour mixture.
Mix in nuts and chocolate chips.
Add oats slowly, mixing along the way.

Place balls of dough onto greased baking sheets. Press down on each ball lightly with a fork.
Bake 12 minutes.
Makes A LOT of cookies!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

