Blue Apron Review

blue-apronHave you heard of this meal planning/delivery service called Blue Apron? Maybe you’ve had their sponsored link pop up in your Facebook feed? I heard about it through a friend who was sweet enough to send me a free trial. So I gave it a whirl. And the results are mixed.

If you are a foodie, this is for you. If you have a two year old and a three month old, I wouldn’t suggest it. If you’re somewhere in between, I’d say it is worth a shot!

The awesome thing about Blue Apron is that your meal planning is done for you. No more worrying about what you can pull together from your fridge at the last minute. Blue Apron takes care of that for you by sending your three meals right to your door with all ingredients perfectly measured & packaged and instructions clearly written. It was exciting to try out different things I never would have attempted on my own too – like freekeh and escarole. And it helped me prepare brussel sprouts in a way My Girl enjoyed!

The not-so-awesome thing about Blue Apron is that those ingredients have to be chopped and minced and juilienned and blanched and sautéed and on and on and on. I made six meals from Blue Apron and each one took at least an hour from start to finish. Again, if the kitchen is your zen zone and chopping is your stress reliever, this could be ah-mazing for you. But if you’ve only got a Mickey Mouse Clubhouse episode amount of time to get dinner prepped, it is a bit tricky.

The Blue Apron food was pretty tasty and wonderfully convenient. The meal prep time was not. But if you’re curious, I would say it is worth a $60 shot. Let me know your thoughts if you give it a whirl!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

