What I Learned This Weekend…

What did I learn this weekend? To never, ever leave my camera at home!

We took a trip to my in-laws this weekend, who just happen to live out in the country surrounded by cornfields – or the pretty corn house, as My Girl called it. It was the perfect cloudy day, I had an adorable little girl wearing a maxi dress, walking around barefoot, exploring, playing in the gravel – but didn’t have anything but my iPhone to capture some shots.

pretty corn house

Then we had some country fun & took a ride down the tarp-and-hay water slide, with a beautiful evening sky lighting up the background. But my trusty ol’ DSLR was sitting on my kitchen counter in Nashville.

country waterslide

At least I got some shots to keep the memories – and I suppose there’s something to be said for taking in the moment & not spending time getting my settings just right. But the photographer in me spent a great deal of the evening considering which angles I would’ve gotten, which smiles I would have loved to have captured. You live, and you learn. And I learned running back into the house once you remember your forgotten camera is worth the hassle!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

